Finished: McCall’s 8832 Maxi Skirt

image

I love this skirt more than I expected to. This was the first piece of my mini wardrobe I completed and I’ve worn it 3x already.

McCall’s 8832 is a pattern I bought on eBay in 2012, I believe.  I had to enlarge the waist and hip/butt area to get the kind of swingy but not-too-full skirt I think looks good on me. 8832 was the base for my house dress’s wrap skirt.  I tweaked it further to make this skirt.
image

Pattern Description:

OOP (1997) Misses’ flared skirt with waistband and side zipper.  Pattern has 3 length variations.

Pattern Sizing:

The pattern I got had sizes 12, 14, &16. I started with the 16.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Not this time. I made some changes to the pattern – surprise surprise.

Were the instructions easy to
follow?

When I followed the instructions,  they were super simple. The original pattern only has 3 pieces.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

Oh my goodness,  what’s not to like?  The skirt is flared without being a circle while skimming my waist and hips. I am so glad another tall PR member recommended this pattern.

Fabric Used:

A thin jersey from fabric.com. I thought this fabric was too thin for what I originally bought it.
Nice drape for this skirt though.

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made:

I had to size the waist and hips (let’s be real – my backside) up to fit my measurements.
For this version,  I eliminated the waistband and zipper and took the hem to the floor.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

I love this pattern and have made it my skirt TNT. I’ve made this pattern a few times and use it as my flared skirt base for other
patterns.  Definitely recommend this pattern if you can get ahold of it.

Leave a Reply

