Finished: DIY Corset

image

Still playing catchup on completed projects.  Some of you may remember when I started working on a self-drafted corset last September. It’s been finished since December. This was one of the most involved sewing projects I’ve ever tackled and I’m proud to have finished it. And that it fits!
image

Pattern Description:

Self-drafted double-boned underbust corset with zipper front.

Pattern Sizing:

I drafted this pattern to my measurements using instructions from Foundations Revealed.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

It looked exactly the way I wanted it to when I was finished.

Were the instructions easy to follow?

There were no instructions. However, due to the fitting, boning, lining,  grommet insertion, and zipper application,  I would say this is a fairly involved project.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

I like the finished product a lot. I especially like that I don’t have to struggle with a busk when putting it on.

Fabric Used:

I used upholstery fabric for both the fashion fabric and the contrasting lining.

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made:

My corset’s shape is not like standard underbusts. I wanted my corset to dip in the front and ride higher on my hips for easier wear when sitting. I also used heavy duty zip ties in place of steel for the boning and a zipper in place of a busk. Finally, I opted to hand sew the fashion fabric and lining together instead of binding the edges.  I would bind the edges next time.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

I am glad to have tackled this project. It took me some time to finish as there are so many steps involved and so much hand sewing,  but I would do it all again.

image

Leave a Reply

