Finished: Butterick 5030 Wrap (House) Dress

image

And here we have another item that has been complete for months. When we first moved, I thought it would be good to have a housedress. I took all the fitting work I’d done out for a test drive with Butterick 5030.

Pattern Description:

Flared, wrapped dress, below mid-knee has semi-fitted bodice, front band or collar, sleeve variations. A: contrast bands and belt. B, F: purchased belt. C, D: self fabric belts. E: cuffs and single layered sash.

Pattern Sizing:

I initially made a size 22, based on the pattern envelope.   That was MUCH too large.  I had to do a lot of cutting down of the muslin pieces to get a wearable product.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

For the most part,  yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow?

I didn’t follow them.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

I like that the pattern is for a woven wrap dress & that the pattern has so many views.

I dislike the sizing. I originally made 5030 based on my measurements from the pattern envelope,  = disaster.   Next time, I also need to raise the armhole by 1/2 inch to increase my range of motion and maybe cut down on the sleeve head. This time, I used the bodice adjustments & a skirt from patterns I’d already fitted to get the woven wrap dress look.

Fabric Used:

I used some midweight black stretch woven from the stash.  I had to piece part of the skirt due to scant yardage. But hey, no waste!

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made:

Used the skirt modified from McCall’s 8832.
Used the altered bodice from Butterick 4976.  When I made 5030, it was just huge.
I raised the neckline 2 inches. Then I had to take a (fairly large) tuck in the right front bodice to eliminate gaping. That could be due to the fabric stretching while being handled.
I also added snaps at the waist to keep it closed. Then I added 2 hooks and eyes to keep covered. 1 hook and eye set was much too prominent, so I removed it after the first wear. I’m thinking a clear snap.

image

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

I am pleased with the house dress and will definitely use the fitted pattern again. I would recommend B5030 with modifications.

image

Leave a Reply

