Finished: New Look 6895 Top

image

This is another item I’ve had sewn up for months and just now getting it onto the blog.  I usually wear it with a brown cardi.  I salvaged the fabric from this RTW dress to make the top:
image

I am much happier with this fabric as a top and wore it at least and a month while subbing.

Pattern Description:
Misses top pattern with 6 top variations. I made View A.

Pattern Sizing:
8-18 in one envelope.  I started with the 18.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
I don’t remember having any trouble with the instructions.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I like that the top takes so little fabric. I also like tht the post resembles Boden’s RaveIlo top.  I dislike how BIG the top was as originally sewn.

Fabric Used:
I disassembled a Kohl’s dress and used the fabric for this top.

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made:
Based on other people’s helpful reviews, I raised the neckline 3 inches.

This was also the first pattern I
did a slash-and-spread FBA. What a time-consuming process! I like pivot-and-slide much better.  I moved half the FBA into the neckline gathers.

After sewing, I had to take in the side seams up to 4 inches on each side so the top doesn’t look like a sack on me.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
After all the pattern tweaking, I would sew this top again for sure. With modifications, I would recommend this pattern to others.

image

2 thoughts on “Finished: New Look 6895 Top

  1. BeaJay

    Can’t believe you had dropped off my blog roll. I think when blogger finished their reader. Glad to have found you again through Pattern Review.

    Love your top – great way to use fabric from an older item.

    Reply
    1. JuliN Post author

      Glad to hear from you, BeaJay! You haven’t missed much – and my moving over to WordPress is probably what bumped me from your list.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

