Finished: Butterick 5606 Tunic

The Young Miss asked me to hurry up and make another top for her before school ended in June. She wore this on the last full day.

image

Pattern Description:
Pullover dress is close-fitting at the bust, has slightly flared skirt and drapes extending into tie-ends with raw edges, wrong side of fabric will show. May be worn foreward or backwards. Wearing instructions are included.

Pattern Sizing:
I used size XXL.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Not really.  I didn’t make the wrap.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
I didn’t use the instructions for DD’s tunic.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I like that this is an incredibly simple pattern.

Fabric Used:
A rayon jersey from an eBay seller. The fabric was much thinner than I had hoped, so I doubled it.

Pattern Alterations or any
design changes you made:

I used the back piece for the front and back for tween bosom coverage. I also shortened the pattern by 10″ to take it up to tunic length.
Next time, I would remove .5″ from the center front and do a FBA.

image

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I’ve already cut this out in dress length for myself. This pattern is out of print, but if one can get a copy, I would recommend it.

image

Leave a Reply

