Finished: McCalls 6552 Tunic

image

This tunic is made from the Fashion Star line of patterns.  I received it from the lovely Miss Brenda of Brenda’s Sewing Nook.  I made it for my not-so-little Miss in May.
image

Pattern Description:
Pullover dress has self bias neck binding, loose-fitting bodice, front and back cut-in-one (no shoulder seams), raised waist with drawstring and narrow hem.

Pattern Sizing:
Miss Brenda of Brenda Sewing Nook passed the XS-M on to me. I started with the M for DD’s tunic.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Eh, not too much.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes, very easy.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I liked how few pieces there were. It was an easy make for the not-so-little Miss. The lack of shoulder seams makes the bodice piece large.

Fabric Used:
I used an Ibiza rayon jersey from fabric.com. It’s a nice weight and not too thin.

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made:
I added 5″ to the side seams, lengthened the bodice by 4.5″, shortened the skirt portion by 30″ and raised the neckline to make it more middle-schooler appropriate. I left off the drawstring and just used clear elastic at the waist.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
This is a pretty versatile pattern. DD was pleased with the tunic and I would sew it again if she wants it. I would recommend this pattern to others.
image

Leave a Reply

