Finished: Vogue 7837 Tap Pants

image

These have been finished for months. I’ve worn them a fair number of times and am glad I made a muslin.

Pattern Description:
Misses’ camisole, shorts, teddy, top, nightgown, pants & slippers. Semi-fitted, pull-on shorts are high-thigh cut. I made the shorts ( view D).

Pattern Sizing:
Sizing goes from XS-XL. I used the L.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes, it did.

Were the instructions easy to
follow?

I’m not sure, since I didn’t use the instructions. I sewed French seams and narrow hems.
image

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I liked that these shorts look like a girly version of boxer shorts. I loved wearing boxers during high school. Hey, it was the 90s.

Fabric Used:
A silky polyester from Joann’s I had in my stash.

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made:
In my initial pattern work, I
added 3″ to length of the shorts legs. I then used my personal crotch curve. After my muslin work, I pinched out 3″ from front right above the crotch and tapered to nothing at side.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I’ve worn these a number of times – they are a great alternative to a slip under maxis – and would make these shorts again. I would recommend the pattern to others.

Leave a Reply

