What I Found: Knit Tank Top Patterns

Excuse me for the digression from sewing progress…This post is for you Ms. Erika :).

I got a question about knit tank patterns and thought I would turn what I found into a post in case it is helpful for others too.  The requirements I was working with were the pattern had to have wide straps and be suitable for knits.  I decided to impose a couple of other restrictions on the search:  the patten had to be easily accessible.  Here’s what I found:

Colette Sorbetto

This is a downloadable pattern from Colette Patterns.  Everybody and their best friend’s auntie has made this pattern and I can see the appeal.  There are only 2 pattern pieces and the pattern is FREE.  I like free a lot.  I have seen many really wonderful renditions of the Sorbetto and so many customized versions, both in woven fabrics and knits. 

Butterick 5948

This is a Butterick Fast & Easy pattern with multiple views.  This pattern looks very simple to execute and can be customized once the fit is perfected.  This is a pattern drafted for wovens, but very easily converted to knits.

Jalie 3245

This is a strictly knit pattern from independent pattern company Jalie.  I saw some very nice versions of this top on PatternReview.  The pattern contains a raglan sleeve top along with the tank and a tunic length tank as well.   Another nice thing about Jalie patterns are their built-in ability to scale the patterns from child to adult sizes.  This pattern is readily available through Jalie’s website and select retailers.

Simplicity 8523

Image from Pattern Review

Much like it’s Butterick twin above, this is a Simplicity pattern with multiple views which could be easily converted to knits.

Simplicity 2599

Image from Pattern Review

This is a woven top pattern from Simplicity which currently has 112 reviews on PR and was a best pattern of 2010 on the site.  The top has neckline variations and B, C, and D cup pattern pieces.  Again, this looks like a pattern that would be easy to convert to knits.








New Look 6483

More of the same woven shell tops with neckline variations, this time from New Look.  I especially like the bra-friendly, almost halter style of view C with it’s close neck. I also like the lower retail price of New Look patterns.  This one goes for $4.29 on Simplicity’s website.

Burda 7645

Image from Pattern Review

This is a knit tunic-length top from Burda Style, the envelope-pattern arm of Burda sold by Simplicity in the US.  I like the longer length of this tank and the fact that there is a sleeved version available in the pattern envelope as well.  The finished tops look loose fitting on the models, so that could provide a nice amount of play for personal fitting preferences and length changes.

In terms of accessibility, all of these patterns are currently available for sale online at their respective distributors/manufacturers’ websites.  Also, Simplicity Patterns are on sale for $0.99 at Hobby Lobby all week!

While noting down the Butterick and Simplicity tops, it struck me how many older patterns include a shell pattern, which might be just right to turn into a knit tank.  I also remember seeing something in one of my sewing books about converting woven patterns to knit or vice-versa.  Off to find that and hopefully post it today.

3 thoughts on “What I Found: Knit Tank Top Patterns

  1. Ms. McCall

    I have tried a woven version of the first two on the list and was completely disappointed. I've tried a similar Simplicity pattern and also found myself doing rounds of changes, and still not being happy. I think that a woven tank is one of the least forgiving in terms of fit that you can make, so I guess I shouldn't be surprised it was difficult to fit. Knit tanks should be pretty forgiving on the other hand, and I'll bet if you have a RTW one that you like, it would be fairly simple to copy it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

