McCall’s 9357 – Finished

My non-work summer wardrobe is sadly lacking.  I write this as I sit in old hole-y jeans and a ratty t-shirt — items never to see the light of day outside the house.  The twins’ youngest half-sister had a 1st birthday party a few Saturdays ago.  I had to bring them to the party and knew it would be rude to drop the kids (and gift) off and leave.  So I needed to look decent but not overdressed.  Enter McCall’s 9357:

I sewed this dress once before, during my college days.  I thought it would be super cute during my semester in Puerto Rico.  I used a seriously loud print, which I later regretted.  But the dress was easy to wear.  This time, the print was a little tamer. 

 

Pattern Description:
1990’s halter-style dress with length and neck variations.
Pattern Sizing:
12, 14, & 16.
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes.
Were the instructions easy to follow?
They are only 1 page. Super simple.
What did you particularly like
or dislike about the pattern?

I liked the fact that there are only 3 pattern pieces. A very easy make. I also like that this pattern can be used with wovens and knits.
Fabric Used:
I used a this knit I had gotten from Jo-Ann years ago.
Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made:
I first enlarged the pattern for my post-college age size. I also also eliminated the armhole facings and just turned and stitched the armhole openings. Next time I think a FBA is in order.  Along with closing the front keyhole about 3″.  I could look down and see part of my strapless bra all day.  Good thing I’m tall and nobody else could see that high!
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I may not make it again soon, but would like to. I would recommend it to others. Or since this pattern is OOP, maybe M6115 would serve.

Today is D-Day for the offer I put in on a house.  We’ll see how it goes!

6 thoughts on “McCall’s 9357 – Finished

  1. Pingback: 2013 Has Been Something | Happy Homemaker - Redux

Leave a Reply

