McCall’s 7989 – Dress as Slip : Finished

Wow, it’s been 16 17 days since my last post & boy, things are all a-jumble here.
1.  The Little Mister has a broken finger (he and the Little Miss were arguing & she accidentally slammed his finger in a door) & spent the twins’ 11th birthday at the orthopedist for a surgical rule-out instead of at their bday party.
2. I’ve left my job. And what a relief it is.
3.  We are packing up the house for a big move!
4.  And I’ve been sewing as a distraction / procrastination tactic.
I made the following slip early last month. I’ve worn and washed it 3x since then.

Pattern Description: 1990s slip dress pattern with topper variations.
Pattern Sizing: 16, 18, 20 which was cut to 16.
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes.
Were the instructions easy to follow? I didn’t follow the instructions this time.
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I like the simplicity of the pattern — front, back, strap, and facings. I also like the fact that I can make this as a slip (which is what I did this time) and as a dress.
Only one dislike — the facing likes to flip out of front. I think I will draft a deeper facing for next time.
Fabric Used: A super cheap, poly acetate from Affordable Fabrics.
Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made: Since I’ve had this pattern since high school, and I’m not quite high school size anymore, I added 1 inch to the seams.  I eliminated the center back seam.  I also enlarged the bust darts, lowered the neckline, added 4 inches to the hem, added 3 inches to the straps, and cut the pattern on the bias. After all that, I then took off the 4 inches at the hem and the 3 inches off the straps. Bias really does grow!
I made the slip with French seams and added a lapped side zipper. I used Angela Wolf’s narrow hem technique from Craftsy’s Tailoring RTW class.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I sewed this dress many times in high school, and now that I’ve re-sized it, I will definitely make it again. As a slip and as a dress. I would recommend it to others.
Conclusion: This is a nice simple pattern that is easy to make. I am pleased to use it as a slip pattern and can see it as a dress for me again (with thicker straps).
Lapped side zip, bust dart, & narrow hem details.
2 thoughts on “McCall’s 7989 – Dress as Slip : Finished

  1. Pingback: 2013 Has Been Something | Happy Homemaker - Redux

Leave a Reply

