Vogue 8648 – Finished

I finally got around to photographing the skirt yesterday.  This is all that remains from My 1 Dress project of 2012.

Look at all that wrinkling.  I didn’t have any wrinkles by muslin 3.  I think I took a wrong turn at the hand-basting of the silk organza underlining.

Eh, I don’t love it.

I still love the color and may try to salvage this further.  I also think the skirt needs to be pegged.  I tried to peg the skirt pieces unsuccessfully between muslins 1 and 2, then gave up on the idea.

MORE Wrinkles!  GRR!

Pattern Description: (from pattern envelope – Lined dresses A-F, fitted through bust, mid-knee, have princess seams, bias midriff and back zipper.)

Pattern Sizing: I started with a size 20.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? No.

Were the instructions easy to follow? I didn’t follow them. I sewed along to the Craftsy Couture Dress class.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I like the idea of a princess seam sheath dress with a hem that is 2 inches below my knee. I dislike pretty much everything else. Even after making 3 muslins, I only salvaged the skirt portion of the dress.

Fabric Used: A teal blue poly-rayon suiting with some stretch that I had in the stash for eons and silk organza.

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made: I made a raft of adjustments The details are in the following posts.

Muslin 1
Muslin 2
Muslin 3

I also added a back pleat to the hem of the skirt.

After putting together the final dress, the bodice still looked a hot mess. I ripped the bodice from the skirt to try to salvage the skirt. I added a grosgrain ribbon stay inside the skirt waistline to keep it from stretching. Since the seam allowances were so large, I just turned them under and used them as a facing.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? No, I would not on both counts. I am not sure this is the right sheath pattern for some with a big front and back porch who is taller than average.

Conclusion: I think working with this pattern was an unnecessary test of my perseverance with an underwhelming result.

3 thoughts on “Vogue 8648 – Finished

  1. BeaJay

    Shame about the wrinkles because that fabric and colour is absolutely gorgeous. Try re sewing the lining. It is certainly worth fixing those wrinkles.

    Reply
  2. Carolyn

    That's a pity you're not happy with it, it looks very smart. The colour is lovely. It looks to me that the CB seam pulls in a bit, and is maybe not stitched straight from the hip down? This should be a straight along the grain seam. It might be worth checking, this would be a simple fix if so πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

