Butterick 4662 – Finished

Oh, what a past two weeks it’s been!  I took the photos in this post the morning before I left for a job interview in South Carolina!  My last two PatternReview.com reviews were done on the road with spotty internet service.  That was something I don’t think I’ll repeat anytime soon.

I’m glad I was able to challenge myself and enter the 2013 Spring Pantone Colors contest.  After an interesting learning process (*read “failure”*, but one I still really want to wear*) with V8751 due to user alteration error, I wound up finishing Butterick 4662.  This is an OOP pattern from 2005.  My review is below.

Pattern Description: OOP Butterick wide-leg pants pattern with length variations and high, faced waist.

Pattern Sizing: I started with a size 20.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Oh, yes it did.

Were the instructions easy to follow? I didn’t use them; The instructions looked straightforward enough.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I like how simple and elegant the pattern is. I also l .o.v.e. the high waist & wide legs of the pattern.

Fabric Used: I used a Grayed Jade linen fashion fabric and poly organza for the underlining. Both fabrics are from my stash.

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made: I made several changes: I used the back crotch Curve and side seam stitch lines from my Jeanius drafted pants. I also added 5″ to length, moved the zipper to side seam, and re-drafted the waist facings.

The biggest change is that I flat-lined the pants with poly organza. I really like the result from the flat -lining/underlining .

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I will make these
again & would recommend the pattern to others if they can get a copy. I noticed some for sale online.

Conclusion: Other than the pattern work and trying a new technique, This pattern is easy & would be a great intro pants pattern for beginners. I feel like a grown-up version of me in these pants!

I want to add a big “thank you” to La Sewista for putting photos of her flat-lining process on her blog.  I read about it in Issue 42 from my Threads Archive DVD, but for the life of me couldn’t figure out the wrapping part.  As you can see from the close-up photo above, I got it!  And I really like the finished effect.

Erika, the next post is for you!  Thanks for the Versatile Blogger award, I haven’t forgotten :).

3 thoughts on “Butterick 4662 – Finished

Leave a Reply

