Vogue 2611 – Finished

I wanted to share this in time for the 2013 Essential Top Sew-along over on Faye’s blog, but it didn’t quite happen.  But it’s done now :).
I spent two weekends ago grading the pattern and cutting out the fabric.  I’m pretty pleased with my pattern matching, too. I started sewing the top last Tuesday night, but had so many problems with skipped stitches, then no stitches.  This fabric was like iron to sew!  After many gyrations, I wound up using my largest ballpoint needle (size 16) and that worked out fine.


I guess all that pattern work paid off!  And my nagging poor Sigrid over at PatternReview over the Pantone colors contest.  She is so gracious, is Sigrid! 

Pattern Description:  Out-of-print Misses semi-fitted top with neckline variations.  I made view B, a wrap top with tucks, tie-ends, and long sleeves.

Pattern Sizing:  I started with size 18, which is the largest size the pattern came in.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?  Yes, I think it did.

Were the instructions easy to follow?  Super easy.  And I actually followed them (mostly) this time.
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?  I like the front tucks in the pattern along with the cut on sleeves.  I like the back tucks as well.  I guess I like everything about it.

Fabric Used:  An ITY print jersey with Tender Shoots, African Violet, and Linen featured from Gorgeous Fabrics.

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made:  I graded the pattern from size 18 using Lynda Maynard’s technique outlined in De-Mystifying Fit.  I rotated darts from a base wrap bodice I knew fit to tucks.  I raised the neckline 2.5” (it could do with another 1”, maybe 2” more).  I also used clear elastic in the neckline to eliminate gaping (it works perfectly).

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?  Oh yes, I love how this looks and fits, although I will make a bigger square shoulder adjustment next time.  I’ve thought about using this pattern for years and am so glad I finally did.  I would recommend it to others who like wrap-style tops for sure.

Conclusion:  If you like wrap-style tops and can get your hands on this pattern, make it!
This is how I wore it to my bday dinner yesterday. (Trying to keep my heels out of the soft ground…)
4 thoughts on “Vogue 2611 – Finished

  1. Carolyn

    Happy birthday Juli!Your top turned out so beautiful. The wrap front style is lovely, and I really love the print you chose. You look smashing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

