PSA: Master Pants Pattern – Finished

My pants, they are finished!  And I took photos yesterday morning before work :).  My review is below.

Pattern Description:  Self-drafted high-waisted pants pattern.  I based my work on the jeans I used for Kenneth D. King’s Jean-ius class on Craftsy.

Pattern Sizing:  The finished pants are based on my measurements.  The original jeans were a RTW 16 Tall, I think.
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?  Not really.  My original jeans were high-waist bootcut, I changed the pattern to wide-legs.  The original jeans also had patch pockets which I changed to welt pockets.  I also eliminated the back yoke for this version.
Were the instructions easy to follow?  I followed Kenneth’s instructions through the Craftsy lessons.
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?  I like that I was able to work the puzzle of my first self-drafted pattern. 
Fabric Used:  Orange velveteen from Affordable Fabrics in Rocky Hill.  I’ve had this fabric in my stash for at least 5 years, just waiting to make wide-leg pants.
Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made:  There were a number of changes/alterations.  1)  I altered the legs from bootcut to wide-leg.  2)  I replaced the patch pockets with welt pockets.  3)  I made a 2-inch hem with topstitching for more of a khaki look.  4)  I added snaps to the top of the waistband instead of a jeans button and buttonhole.  I documented some of the process here
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?  That’s the hope, especially since I got the back crotch curve doing just what I want.  This was the first go-round of my Master Pants Pattern (TNT).  There will be more to come for sure!
Conclusion:  I’m pleased with my first self-drafted pair of pants and now the pattern will become a TNT for me.
Here’s what the original jeans looked like:

My next post will be about what I learned from completing this project.

One thought on “PSA: Master Pants Pattern – Finished

  1. BeaJay

    Great pants – nice fit. Isn't it wonderful to have a pants pattern that you can go to – and it being self drafted makes it even better. Well done!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

