Welt Pocket Tutorials

I’m getting there!  With the Craftsy courses I signed up for, I F.I.N.A.L.L.Y. finished attaching the fashion fabric and silk organza for My1Dress.  And that’s without underlining the sleeves (*sigh*).  And while doing some elder sitting last night I finished drafting the pattern pieces for my pants master pattern and cut out most of the pieces.  But, since I like to complicate my sewing projects, I am attempting single welt pockets for the orange cords.  I even got to begin a practice welt pocket with some leftover brown corduroy from a failed project.

I have watched and read many welt pocket tutorials in the past few weeks. And then I promptly lost most of the links.  I’m putting what I liked most here so I can find it easily next time.

Patti Palmer demonstrates a double welt pocket installation at the end of the Sewing with Nancy DVD “Jackets for Real People”. The demo is also on the Nancy’s Notions website/youtube.

This one from youtube is pretty straightforward:

But the best one I’ve encountered, hands down, is Ann Steeves’ (of Gorgeous Fabrics fame) welt pocket instructions published in Threads Magazine. Boy am I glad I bought the Threads archive DVD.  It has come in handy for so many things already.

ThreadsMagazine, Issue 122

Ann also has an updated tutorial on her old blog, Gorgeous Things.

Leave a Reply

