Personal Sewing Academy: A-line (no waist seam) Dress

I clearly like to make things difficult for myself.  While trying to figure out the best pattern to tackle for this TNT, I obsessed over briefly considered these patterns:

While these are lovely vintage dress patterns, they either have too many extra seams for a simple TNT (Simplicity 6725) or give an  overall too-boxy appearance (Simplicity 5985).

Then it hit me:  why don’t I just perfect Butterick 5260?  I’ve already sewn it and wear my imperfect finished product at least 2x/month.  All I would need to do to get this pattern up to speed is shorten the shoulder line, shorten the sleeve, do a much needed fba, and make it dress length.

b5260 grey
No FBA but I wear it all the time.  Look how much shorter my hair was then!
By George, I’m going to make Butterick 5260 my A-line dress TNT!

One thought on “Personal Sewing Academy: A-line (no waist seam) Dress

Leave a Reply

