Burda 7515 – finished

Oooh, I’m missing my digital camera. I resorted to taking a phone pic of my dress in the bathroom at work!

Burda 7515

Pattern Description: Loose fitting dress pattern.

Pattern Sizing: All sizes included in pattern envelope (EUR 36-48/US 10-22)

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, except mine had two sleeves instead of one.

Were the instructions easy to follow? I don’t know. The pattern’s just two pieces so I didn’t follow the instructions.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? The pattern itself is no problem to work with at all. I’m just not sure if this is the right silhouette for me

Fabric Used: Leftover fleecy grey jersey from my mother’s stash. She originally used it to make Simplicity 9850 in the late 80’s/early 90’s.

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made: I lengthened the skirt portion of the dress to accommodate my height. Because the pattern is so loose fitting, I did not make any other pattern adjustments. I did use clear elastic to stabilize the underarm seams and neckline. I also used Sandra Betzina’s technique for easing fullness at the waistline from Power Sewing. I am not sure if that easing was fully successful; I guess the end result is better than belting and looking bunch-y at the waist.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? The dress is super comfortable. I wore it to work yesterday (hence the instagram pic) layered with a black tee and tights underneath, a scarf around the neck and a belt around the waist. I’m not sure if I would sew it again because of the lack of waist definition.

Conclusion: I got this pattern from Walmart when local Walmarts still carried sewing supplies. It was a good price and an easy sew. It’s quick too — unless you happen to be a slow-poke like me!

2 thoughts on “Burda 7515 – finished

Leave a Reply

