Pattern Fitting with Confidence Book & DVD: Better Together

Last month, I purchased Nancy Zieman’s Pattern Fitting with Confidence DVD.  I’ve had the book for ages.  I don’t know what I was waiting for in purchasing the dvd (other than my general cheapness, that is)!  While I did ok muddling along following the pretty clear instructions in the book, I had a true aha moment while watching the DVD. 

All pattern alterations are based on changing the pattern measurements to fit your measurements.


And let the church say, “well duh”! LOL

I have read through and tested out the guidelines in De-Mystifying Fit, I purchased and tested out the techniques in the Full Busted? Sew Clothes that Fit! DVD, and while both were supremely helpful, they both involve cutting up the original pattern and using lots of tape.  I am goof-prone and usually need many tries to get something right, so I don’t love the thought of cutting up the original pattern for alterations. That’s why I like the pivot and slide so much.  I’m set to use the technique to make adjustments to my next sewing project; the video has really helped me understand the book more.

One thought on “Pattern Fitting with Confidence Book & DVD: Better Together

Leave a Reply

