Finished: M6163 (wedding version)

I’ve been sitting on this review because I laughingly thought I’d post on muslin #3 first.  I made muslin 3 out of a stretch woven, which totally behaved differently than the final dress stretch fabric.

McCall's 6163 Modified

The wedding was last Saturday and I pulled it out & finished the dress.  Yay!  I felt fantastic in this dress — even though I ignored the neck stabilization then tried to fix it at the last minute.  And I looked great.  Ah, jersey is so forgiving!

This was my first time working with 4-way stretch.  I used a stretch needle for the first time, too.  And of course, I made a bunch of changes to the pattern, which used to look like this…

to try to get it to look like this…


Fitting Changes

I omitted the zipper.  Really, it’s stretchy, no zip needed.
I omitted the belt – I always find wrap belts fiddly.
I shortened the back by .5 inch.
I lowered the bust by 1.75 inches.
I folded out 1.25 inches at the underarm.
Pivot and slide FBA of 5 inches.
1 inch high buttock contour adjustment with zero net change adjustment.
I made a square shoulder adjustment.
 
Style Changes
I lengthened the skirt.
I flared the skirt from the hipline and made it asymmetrical.  I then added a seam at the hipline.
I raised the neckline 2 inches.
I added 4 inches to the bottom of the left bodice.
After muslin #2, I saw that the left skirt back was pulling to the front so I used Kenneth King’s suggestion from Jean-ius to straighten the seamline
McCall's 6163 Modified


McCall's 6163 Modified

My version doesn’t exactly look like the inspiration, but I’m pleased.  My review is below.

Pattern Description:  McCall’s 6163 Close fitting, above mid-knee length dresses with mock wrap front, gathered at left side, collar, collar band, raglan sleeves, side zipper and stitched hems with sleeve length variations.
Pattern Sizing:  Pattern comes in two size ranges (8-16 and 18W-24W).  I originally bought the straight sized pattern but based on the sizing noted in other reviews, I used the plus size pattern.  My version is based on an adjusted 20W.
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?  Umm, not really.  I didn’t want the pattern envelope look when I sewed this version – I was looking to make a mock-wrap version of Modcloth’s Wrapped Up in Beauty dress.  I based my alteration work on view B (the cap sleeve version).
Were the instructions easy to follow?  Yeah, about that.  I didn’t use the instructions much.  I only glanced at the instructions for the gathers.  With that said, the pattern is well marked and super easy.
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?  Oh, I’m in love with this pattern!  It was soo easy to work with.  I only started out with only 5 pattern pieces.
One nitpicky dislike is that the plus version of the pattern does not mark the back pattern piece as belonging to all views.  I got a little confused between muslin #2 and this project.  But, I’m easily confused J.  One other thing – this neckline is definitely LOW.  I raised the neckline 2 inches based on others’ reviews (thanks Cennetta!) and could have raised it another 4 inches.
Fabric Used:  For this version I used a persimmon colored Swiss 4-way stretch knit from Gorgeous Fabrics.  I really like the drape and color is just fantastic.
Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made:  I made a number of changes to the pattern and detailed them here.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?  If things work out the way I want, I will definitely be sewing this again.
If you’re on the fence about this pattern, don’t be.  Get this pattern!
Conclusion:  Even though I cut corners by not hemming and made a mess of the left wrap which stretched out, I looked really great in this dress at the wedding.  I love this pattern and can see it in many different versions – including woven.
 
2 thoughts on “Finished: M6163 (wedding version)

  1. Faye Lewis

    Thank you for following my blog and for your comment on my floor. I've been miserably sewing at my kitchen table for a month now – so miserable for real.I've reviewed your entire blog – glad to meet you!!! I'll follow you too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

