Morphing M6163

One of Steve’s friends is getting married this month.  I fell in love with ModCloth’s Wrapped Up in Beauty dress when I saw it on Polyvore, but it doesn’t come in my size. 

So, I got the brilliant idea to use McCall’s 6163 to make my own rendition of the ModCloth dress.  Notice Wrapped Up in Beauty is a true wrap dress with an in-one cap sleeve and asymmetrical hem.  I like wrap dresses but not the peekaboo aspect of the true wrap.  Hooray for the mock-wrap!

Even though I’m not finished with the dress, I’ve muslined the pattern twice and it is super duper easy to make.  Unless you are like me and love to complicate things.  I didn’t take any muslin pics, except for the shoulder adjustment I made.
Square shoulder adjustment slash.
I thought combining the flared skirt from superstar pattern Vogue 8379 would make my work a little easier.  Eh. 

Some kitty sewing assistance 🙂

The flare wasn’t pronounced enough and the skirt’s left side (the side with the gathers) back pulled toward the front.  Off to one of my pattern drafting books, Claudia Ein’s How to Design Your Own Clothes and Make Your Own Patterns.  I followed the instructions for creating a flare skirt and came up with this:  (and yes, that is cling wrap holding the flared skirt together…I use what I’ve got on hand)

M6163 adjusted right front
M6163 adjusted back
The right front piece is pretty big now – and I haven’t even added the asymmetrical hem yet.  I’ve been puzzling out how to cut this out of fabric and came up with three options:
1.  Leave the pattern piece in one and piece the fabric of the skirt.
2.  Cut the pattern piece at the waist and make bodice and skirt pieces.
3.  Cut the pattern piece at the hip, where the flare begins and make it part of the design in some way.
I’m leaning toward #3 just for simplicity’s sake.  If I use option #2, the finished product will look more like the inspiration dress.  Decisions decisions :).
3 thoughts on “Morphing M6163

  1. Sheila

    I'm in awe at your sewing skills – I love seeing your kitty helper. Thank you so much for visiting my blog and for your nice comment! I appreciate it! 🙂

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Finished: M6163 (wedding version) | Happy Homemaker - Redux

Leave a Reply

