Bombshell Dress – Pattern Alterations When Your Cup Runneth Over…

I signed up for Gertie’s Bombshell Dress course last year. And all I did was watch the lessons on my phone. One of Steve’s friends is getting married in September and the bf likes the lines of bombshell dress. Seems like a good time to work on the bombshell dress.

I have what could be considered, ahem, a very full bust. Even though there is a lesson for adjusting the Burda pattern bust cups for a full bust – it seemed inadequate for a very full bust.  doing some internet research on this dress pattern, I found Mezzo Couture’s posts on her experience.  Her finished dress looked fantastic, but she had the darndest time with construction

So, in order to avoid some of this angst, I got the bright idea to draft my own bra cups. Foundations Revealed is a fantastic site and has 2 free bra-making lessons. Using the free lessons, I drafted the white bra cup. Then I graded it to the brown..

I’ve never used printable patterns before: the Burda pattern included with the Craftsy course is printable (30 pages!). I cut out the bra cup pieces and then taped them together to gauge how much grading I needed to do.

I made a second draft bra cup, cut it into 3 corresponding pieces and went about grading… I used the slide technique outlined in the Foundations Revealed lesson to do the piece grading. And here is the end result.

I spent a lot of time laughing during this process. Steve asked if I was making a hat pattern at one point! It could double as a hat pattern… yeah.  As for the rest of the bodice pieces, I graded them up based on my 1 dress muslin. I’ve got to test this out in fabric next.

9.30.12 ETA:  Make sure to add the corresponding length to pattern piece 4.  In my case, I need to add 3 3/8 inches.
 

2 thoughts on “Bombshell Dress – Pattern Alterations When Your Cup Runneth Over…

  1. Pimsy

    Thank you very much for your comment. Already I'm always happy to receive messages from other countries seamstresses. I reassure you, I do not know what to do with that dress lol. But I will find an opportunity to put it sooner or later.I did not know your blog but now I will follow with pleasure.

    Reply
  2. Carolyn

    I'm so impressed with ladies who draft their own bras!! And the pattern piece might look funny now, all lingerie pattern pieces do! I bought a bra pattern for myself, and the shape and placement of the pieces was a surprise!With all your alterations, you will end up with a bra perfectly fitted to you. Good luck!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

