Boots, Painted not Tossed

I’m so glad I found out about painting shoes! I only wish I’d know about it sooner. I could have saved some cosmetically-challenged but structurally-sound shoes. Oh well, I saved these! I bought these nice, simple brown leather boots from Bloomingdales in 2004 and have worn them almost to death. They look disreputable here:
My poor brown boots
Brown Boots: Close-up

I painted them with Lumiere Bronze and Neopaque Brown paints. I worked on these while sitting with the kids during their bedtime. They started out much too bright with just the bronze paint. I toned it down with the brown using a rag-off technique. Then they got too brown, and did a rub-off with some translucent bronze. I decided to try the technique out on the cheapy plastic belt I got last summer too. I wore my new painted items to work on Tuesday!

Boots painted with Lumiere Bronze and Neopaque Brown
Belt painted with Lumiere Bronze and Neopaque Brown

With the sealer topcoat, they were still a bit bright, but I’m pleased to continue to wear a comfortable pair of leather boots.

One thought on “Boots, Painted not Tossed

Leave a Reply

