My 1 Dress: Inspiration

The kids are out of school this week and I’m on my first real vacation from work in over 5 years! I hope to move more furniture around in the condo and get some pattern work done. Exciting stuff!

So I signed up for Susan Khalje’s The Couture Dress course on Craftsy that I blogged about here. Since I signed up, I have watched all the lessons on my magic phone. I love my magic phone! And I’ve already learned so much from watching the lessons. Susan uses V8648 throughout the lessons – and I received my copy on the 2.10.12. The lines of this pattern reminds me a lot of the Simplicity 2648 Amazing Fit pattern which was lost during The Great Flood. Hooray for a replacement, with a midriff band!

photos sourced from
Vogue Patterns and Simplicity, respectively.

While I like the standard versions of both these patterns, I have been craving the teal Maria Pinto dress Michelle Obama wore at the DNC since I first saw it in 2008.


photo credit: The Daily Mail

For my 1 dress goal this year, I’ve decided to take on my take on this dress. My wants from the inspiration dress are the color (of course), the hemline, and the sleeve length. I already did some neckline work last night and hope to post all the bodice and sleeve changes in my next post.

Leave a Reply

