2012: The Year of Realistic Expectations

Happy New Year everyone! I hope you and your families had a relaxing and joyous holiday season. The kids were pleased with their Christmas tidings and gorged themselves on reading their new book sets, playing video games, and watching the first 7 Harry Potter movies. They spent the new year weekend with their father – and I mostly spent it in bed. My BF and I went to see Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol on New Year’s Eve. I really enjoyed it – it was definitely worth the price of admission.

I know I shouldn’t be, but I’m frustrated with myself for my lack of productivity. I only completed 1 dress in the Plain Pattern Project with the second 85% complete and the third cut out. Moving to my mom’s condo and living with our stuff still packed (and on top of all my mom’s stuff) makes it tough for me to sew. But I have been crafting and working on refashions in the meantime. I’m glad I’ve been able to get some creative things done.

I cannot say that I am sad to have 2011 in my rear view. Last year was very difficult. But 2012 has begun, and I am working on becoming more realistic in my expectations of myself and my time/energy. There are two main goals I have in mind for the next 18 months and I’ve come up with a few ideas that I hope to chronicle on this blog:

Making an Effort

I’ve been trying to make more of an effort with my appearance. I hope to find a clear space in the condo to take outfit photos. And my trip to the MAC counter over the holidays may have (misleadingly) got me to thinking I can clean up pretty.

Taking outfit photos will be an interesting exercise for me because I really dislike seeing myself in photos.

Last year I started a private blog called “Mama Needs a Change”: Changing my relationships with food and money — My journey to weight loss and financial freedom: Which are surprisingly more inter-related than I thought. I chronicled what had been a nagging need to change my lifestyle – mostly before my mom passed away. It’s now past a nagging to an imperative. Over the next week, I’m planning to import that blog’s content here and add to it with “Mama Needs a Change” posts about food and finances.

Sewing from scratch seems like a faraway dream with all that I have to do, but there are a few things I’d like to get done this year. I would like to make 6 dresses, and 2 pair of wide leg trousers for myself this year. There are some refashions/alterations I’d like to make on clothes (and shoes!) that I already have too.

And while this seems antithetical to my wish to sew from scratch, I’d really like to add to my work wardrobe. I ordered a few things from OneStopPlus that should be here next week.

Divesting/Condo-Cleanout

I’ve mentioned it here before, but my mom had a lot of stuff. Her condo is full to the gills with stuff. It is up to me to clean out the condo so that it can be sold (eventually). I’m giving myself 18 months for the cleanout: The kids will be finished with elementary school by then and I’ll need to make some decisions about where we will be next. But first, the veritable mountains of stuff in the condo need to be cleared. That includes *my stuff* (sigh).

I’ve got a lot to do by June 2013! I just need to take it 1 day at a time 🙂

One thought on “2012: The Year of Realistic Expectations

  1. Carolyn

    You are beautiful, and have no reason to dislike pictures of yourself.Good luck with your goals for this year. I sure hope this one will be a good one for you, you seem committed to "cleaning out", like your condo, and cleaning out is always a cathartic experience mentally as well as physically. I wish you well for 2012!(and thanks for your sweet comment too…)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

