Self-Stitched September Day 7: Painted Shoes!

I didn’t wear anything I sewed today, but I was so stoked to wear the shoes I painted!  This was my first attempt at embellishing shoes.
It is hard to find nice pairs of size 11 shoes at thrift stores so when I did, I bought them.  “Them” being these pink Via Spiga leather kitten heels.

I am not a fan of pink but have wanted kitten heels a la FLOTUS for a while now.  But what to do with the Pepto pink shoes?
After some Internet searching, I came across Sassy Feet!  I ordered the book (there’s a new book coming out this month!) and paint starter kit. I’m reply glad I did!
I started out using the pearlescent turquoise: it took 3 coats to cover the pink (I painted while watching a movie). The turquoise alone was B.R.I.G.H.T.  I used black lumiere and the fan-shaped brush to randomly pattern over the base color.
Then there was the issue of the buckle.  I strung thrifted seed beads onto beading wire I had on hand, then wrapped the buckle in the strung beads.
And here’s the finished product.  I’m pretty pleased with myself!

The Little Miss got in on the shoe painting act too.  She painted her sneakers for school.  She chose to use paint from Martha Stewart’s new line at Michael’s.  I thought she would choose one of the many pinks available, but she chose … Turquoise *lol*  She did a great job!!

Little Miss’s sneaker – before
Little Miss’s sneaker – after
Painted with Martha Stewart Acrylic, laces with Lumiere
2 thoughts on “Self-Stitched September Day 7: Painted Shoes!

Leave a Reply

