Self-Stitched September Days 5 & 6

Day 5

Poncho: Me-made (yes, a repeat already!)
Jeans:  Refashioned – bootcut to skinny
Monday was half-price day at the thrifts so my mom marshaled me and the kids out of bed at 7:20 a.m. (it’s not even a school/work day!) to check out bargains.  We went to two Goodwills (Clinton and Middletown) with my mom and had lunch at Price Chopper instead of McDonald’s.  Everybody was happy and I got coffee to keep me awake!  7:20 a.m. , really?
I just threaded a brown ribbon through the coming home poncho.  It feels like early October, not early September here so I’m glad I had the poncho.  I turned the jeans from bootcut to skinny last year and have gotten good wear out of them.  They were too short as bootcuts but perfect for the streetwalker 80’s skinny jeans look.  And the label says size 12 – so I’m going to hold onto these for as long as I can! *lol*
And yes, that’s a snood/hair net.  Is it a snood or is it a hair net?  At the beauty supply shop, they call it a hair net and charge $1 for it…
Day 6

Dress:  vintage Butterick 4125 (1975) in brown linen
Belt:  Notre Dame Church Tag Sale/Flea Market (Durham)
Shoes:  Thrifted
I finally have a pic of me in this dress.  This is version 1 of my Plain Pattern Project dress.  Sorry the photo is from the end of the day, so the wear wrinkles are in full force!  I was glad to wear the belt with it this time around and liked how the dress looked with the waist cinched.
I always think the second or third wear of a sewn garment tells the best tale.  The mandarin collar decided to turn under (like a, um, collar) and lay flat against my neck.  I didn’t mind that look at all, but I’m going to have to keep that in mind for PPP version #2.
I got the belt for $1 from the church’s monthly flea market.  It was priced at $3.75, but because of the peeling synthetic surface, the seller knocked it down to $1.  I like the color so I wore it in its natural, peeling form yesterday.  Nobody noticed.  J
One thought on “Self-Stitched September Days 5 & 6

  1. Amy

    I really like the plain dress version 1 – looks great! BTW, I'm going to sign up for the FBA class that starts next Monday – hoping that I learn some good stuff.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

