Back to School Wardrobe, Part 1

Oh I am so excited! The kids are going back to school at the end of the month and it’s time to start getting the Little Miss’s back to school wardrobe ready. I’ve finished a few things for her.

I bought these adult-size 14 capris at dollar day a while back. I took in the sides, added an adjustable elastic waist, and took up the crotch a bit. She doesn’t love the capris, but she does love a photo shoot!

Next, I took these super stretchy (and seriously tight) bootcut jeans and made them into skinny (and still seriously tight) jeans for her.

The capris and jeans are topped with thrifted tops. All three came from the thrift outlet and were less than 1.00 each.

Finally (so far) here is another thrift outlet find: an adult sized batik print surplice-top dress with an elasticized waist.

I took off the bodice, shortened the armholes 1.5″ and tightened up the front bodice.

She has an thrifted Aeropostale rib tank under the dress. The leggings were a thrift find from last year – and they still fit! They developed a hole on the left thigh, so I darned the hole and then cross stitched a heart over the spot.

Here’s 1 more: a very cute thrifted dress.

The tag says it is a size 14 and the cotton is so crisp it is clear this dress had not been worn. Not bad for 2.00.

The Little Mister is much easier to fit so I just thrift for him. He has taken to being the photographer for his sister though!

Wow, I have been busy. I also got a chance to make a card keeper for my 2010 Mother’s Day cards. I used scrapbook papers, an divided file folder from work, and p-stash storage sheets to hold the cards. Now the kids want them for their birthday cards.

Leave a Reply

