They’re 8!!

5:30 a.m.
It was 8 years ago today that I was into my 5th week of premature labor and on “bed rest” when my water (finally) broke. It was still 5 weeks too early, but the twins were coming!

Based on the many many ultrasounds, Baby A was significantly smaller than her twin brother. She was Baby B before birth, but who’s to quibble now? She was born at 5:37 p.m. and weighed in at a whopping 3lbs. 12 oz. Her umbilical cord was wrapped around her neck twice and her birth Apgar was 2. Oh my poor baby.

But she’s a born fighter that one. 11 days in the NICU and home with the same contraption her brother had come home with; a heart monitor. There were a few other complications down the line and talk of significant areas of her brain having died off, but you’d never know it now.

She learned to ride a two-wheeler all by herself this year. She took swimming lessons and seems to be getting the hang of it! And she hula hooped all by herself a few weeks ago. Yay for the Little Miss – my 4’8”, 120lb. Little Miss :). (She’s built like her defensive lineman father – sorry Mama genetics roulette strikes again.) My upcoming 3rd grader reads better than a lot of 6th graders, is quick, engaging and funny. And beautiful okay maybe I think that because she is mine…
Baby B came onto the scene 4 minutes after his sister. He breezed on through where she had to struggle. He weighed in at 5lbs. 8 oz. and was only in the NICU 7 days. Normal Apgar, no umbilical issues.

He rode a two-wheeler perfectly from the first time he got on one at 5. He catches on to sports easily and has a quick mind like his sister. (He could focus on playing the sport at hand instead of socializing with his neighbor but he’s young yet.) And would rather be off studying bugs anyway. Some days I look at him and realize what a handsome young man he’s going to be and what trouble I will be in for then.

I can’t believe they are 8 already! I don’t know where the time went but some days I’m glad it went – taking care of twins on my own has not been the easiest thing. But it has been totally worth it. Every daycare payment, every abdominal stretch mark, every time I had to set a “good example” and not eat candy for breakfast, every career downshift, have been worth it.

Happy 8th Birthday Faces. Mommy Loves You!
One thought on “They’re 8!!

  1. Amy

    Isn't it amazing how fast time flies? I look at my oldest (just turned 13) and can't believe that she's already a teenager.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

