Picture Day Dress

“Mommy, I want to wear a dress for picture day,” the Little Miss informed me.

Second grade picture day was this past Wednesday. And winter decided to come early to New England so my plans of an Indian summer dress made from Simplicity 2689 went away as the frost came on.

I came up with this instead. The dress was made from a thrifted men’s sweater ($1.00) and corduroy fabric from a less-than-successful sewing project.

First, I cut the ribbed bottom off the sweater. Then I cut down the shoulder area and sleeve length. I then took in the side seams a little. Finally, I added 6″ of corduroy to the bottom. The corduroy came from the failed McCall 3077 project.

My favorite part of the outfit is the cowboy boots. $3.00 at GW!

Sorry for the poor pic…I have to take a better photo next time she wears it.

Leave a Reply

