Busted!

I am starting to remember why I stopped sewing for myself after I had the twins. Pattern alterations are tough! My first attempt at an FBA was, well, a bust. For the past 4 nights, I have been wrestling with the FBA. I thought I would practice a full bust adjustment before tackling some of the more extensive alterations I will need to make on the vintage patterns. I chose a pattern I have had for over a year which has gotten great reviews from other sewists – Butterick 5030.

I thought I would try the slash and spread method and that didn’t work.

Then I thought I would try an improvisational pivot and slide method and that didn’t work. No need for a photo; the results looked a lot like the above…

Maybe I should have started my flat pattern alteration career with an easier pattern…Butterick 5030’s wrap bodice did me in.

I couldn’t figure out what I was doing wrong. I read my scanty reference books, read online tutorials, and looked at others’ blog posts on the FBA (Cennetta, your FBA work is phenomenal! I don’t know how you do it!). But nothing worked for me. I think I need to have someone to show me how to do alterations live.
Last night, I alternated between staring blankly at my alteration attempts and the computer. I finally dragged myself to bed vowing to retreat to making clothes for the Little Miss.

But today I came across this. Nancy Zieman’s Pattern Fitting with Confidence might be just what I need to solve my dilemma! I ordered the book and dvd right away and eagerly await the delivery.

My mother used to watch “Sewing with Nancy” every Saturday afternoon. Nancy demonstrated the pivot and slide technique countless times on her show. And (bonus!) there is a short video demo of the technique on Nancy’s Notions website as well.
For now, I think I will retreat to easier projects for the stash contest. The Little Miss might benefit from the wait after all.
Leave a Reply

