The Grey Tunic/Dress (Butterick 5260)

It’s been over six years since I’ve sewn something for myself. And with the current crowded state of my household, Butterick 5260 seemed to be easy enough for me to do to get back into sewing for myself.

I wound up wearing it to work yesterday. Even though I made it dress length, I wore it over a pair of black pants like a tunic.

My daughter loved it and said she wanted me to make one for her. One of my coworkers said it made me look “more streamlined.” I tried a belt with it last night and my son said he liked it better that way…I’ll take the compliments where I can get them. On to the review!

Pattern Description:
(from pattern back) A-line, pullover tunics A, C or above mid-knee dress B is fitted through the bust, has neckline variations (with or without collar) and below elbow or long sleeves. All garments are narrow hemmed.
Pattern Sizing:
The pattern goes from XS-XXL. I used size ZZ (Lrg-Xlg-Xxl). I cut an Xlg.
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
For the most part, it did. The neck is much “floppier” than the pattern drawing makes out. If you want to achieve the shorter scrunched look of the pattern drawing, make the collar piece thinner when cutting. I’m okay with the neck because I like the mini-cowl look (read: I have a big head).
Were the instructions easy to follow?
The instructions were super easy. With only 4 pieces (front, back, sleeve, collar), it’s hard to go wrong. I did sew the side and sleeve seams all of a piece.
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I really like how easy this pattern is. There are only a few pieces which come together really well. All views of this pattern have a very
Eileen Fisher feel to them.
 
Personally, I disliked how slight the waist definition is – Amy-may had it right about the need to give the dress and tunic more waist shaping.
Fabric Used:
I used a soft grey knit I’ve had in my stash since the summer. I got it from my favorite &1.99/yd fabric store, Affordable Fabrics in Rocky Hill. It feels like a polyester knit and I chose to use the “wrong” side of the fabric – so the dress is smooth on the inside and cozily fuzzy on the outside.
Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made:
Other than making view C dress length as opposed to tunic length, I changed nothing (this time).
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I am definitely going to sew this again. I’m going to sew another in tunic length (and add a hood). I would definitely recommend it to others; it is an easy-to-sew pattern that sews up a comfy dress or tunic.
Conclusion:
This pattern is great for beginners. And such a simple pattern is pretty much a blank slate for design – with some modifications you can really make finished product your own.
2 thoughts on “The Grey Tunic/Dress (Butterick 5260)

Leave a Reply

