Little Miss Flower Girl

I have not sewn for myself in ages. Who am I kidding? I haven’t sewn at all in ages. But, I did dust off the old Kenmore to make DD’s (“The Little Miss”) flower girl dress.

You see, she was the flower girl in my best friend Karen’s 2006 wedding. Karen is also their godmother and thought it would be cute to have the twins in the wedding – DS (“The Little Mister”) was the ring bearer. And I was the maid of honor. I am so glad I bought them Gameboys for that weekend!

Karen chose a beautiful ivory wedding gown and very nice two-piece, strapless periwinkle bridesmaid outfits. The Little Miss has always had a bit of a tummy and the flower girl dresses she tried on made her look like a marshmallow. Even though Karen really want The Little Miss to wear a dress similar to this one,

I knew that wouldn’t work quite the way Karen envisioned. So we chose to make her an ivory and periwinkle dress from McCall’s 4763. The Nordstrom dress was $110. I spent less than $40 on this project, including pattern, fabric, and notions.

Alright enough backstory, on to the review!

 

Pattern Description: (From pattern back) “Lined, ankle length dresses have tie ends in back; view A has contrasting front band and bow; view B has contrasting overskirt and tie ends.”

Pattern Sizing: The pattern comes in both toddler and big girl sizes. I made a size 6 for The Little Miss.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes. I made view A.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, the instructions were easy to follow.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I liked that the pattern is a basic special occasion style with pretty simple instructions. I made two identical dresses because was a little anxious that The then 4-year-old Little Miss would ruin her first dress before we took photos. The Little Miss is an inveterate tomboy – prone to ruining clothes seemingly just from breathing. I completed both dresses pretty quickly – it took less than 1 day from start to finish even with Mommy interruptions.
I am a lazy sewer, so I didn’t particularly like the need for a lining. But the lining was necessary and welcome in the end. I was also a little frustrated with the fact that the front and back “sash” did not align perfectly when following the pattern markings. Or maybe I did something wrong…You can see the lack of alignment here:

The Little Miss dancing with Auntie Cali

Fabric Used: I used two colors of satin fabric which I bought on sale at my local JoAnn Fabrics (which has since closed). I used muslin from my fabric stash for the lining.

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made: I changed the length of the skirt to accommodate the tummy/height ratio. I also made the back sash narrower – it is pretty wide for a small child’s dress.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? While I would not sew this pattern again – dressing up don’t go ’round here much – I would recommend this pattern to others.

Conclusion: You cannot go wrong using McCall’s 4763 to make a simple, economical child’s special occasion dress. McCall’s patterns go on sale routinely and this pattern could work with almost any special occasion fabric.

Leave a Reply

